Podcasts, workouts, books and looks of January!

Podcasts

I listened to the entire first season of Offshore in January. It’s about a 2011 murder in Hawaii and I’d recommend it for fans of Serial and In the Dark. But it’s about sooo much more than just the crime. This podcast explores race relations in Hawaii, links the 2011 crime to a similar crime that happened in Hawaii in the 1930’s and talks about the history of Hawaii. It was super super interesting and I really enjoyed it!

Workouts

January was a pretty quiet month for workouts honestly. I did start teaching a second spin class each week. I teach a regular 45-minute spin class on Monday’s and a 45-minute spin bootcamp (spinning & weights/strength) on Wednesday’s. Both classes are from 6 – 6:45am. I also attended 10 yoga classes in January and did a handful of Fitness Blender workouts.

Oh, and I went cross country skiing three times!! I really, really love it and hoping to go at least two or three more times before winter is over.

Books

I read four books in January! City of Thieves was definitely my favourite, it is such a gripping story about Russia during WW2. The Language of Flowers was also really, really good and probably my second favourite. It was about a young woman who grew up in the foster care system finding her way in life by working as a florist. It was one of those books that really tackled the emotions we feel, such as grief, in a very real and raw way. A Man Called Ove is our family book clubs February book pick and I really enjoyed it! It was a very sweet story that totally made me cry. And Then There Were None is apparently the best selling mystery in the world. I bought it on kindle when it went on sale for $1.99. It was OK. It was written in the early 1900’s and the style of writing was not my favourite, it moved a little slowly for me even though it’s supposed to be a suspenseful mystery. That said, it’s a short book so a very quick read!

Looks

My grandma knitted me this amazing cowl scarf with a hood and I’ve been wearing it daily when I walk Chloe! Love love love it.

Not an ‘outfit’ look but I wore red lipstick when I went to a going away party for a coworker in early January. I just bought this red lipstick from Sephora in Vancouver before we went to Hawaii for Christmas. It’s totally out of my comfort zone but I also feel totally fierce wearing it 🙂

What are your podcasts, workouts, books and looks from January? 

Do you ever wear red lipstick? 

7 Responses

  1. That scarf is brilliant. I love it and want one.

  2. That scarf is amazing and that lipstick color looks amazing on you! I know it takes confidence to wear a bold lip color (and is something I”ve actually never tried!!) but it looks fabulous on you!!!

    My favorite podcast was also offshore. It was so very interesting. I can’t wait to see what they do in their next season. I love the voice of the host, too! I read 7 books in January which is a lot for me. I loved most of them. My favorite was When Breath Becomes Air and my second favorite was I’ll Give You the Sun. My workouts were the most consistent they have been since last January when my hip started to bother me. I did lots of core de force beach body workouts and I also started to run on the treadmill 2-3 times a week. Feels good to be back at it! And my looks were so unremarkable. I feel like I wore suits a lot since I traveled so much for work. Besides that it was all about staying warm!

  3. Stephany says:

    I’ll have to add Offshore to my podcast queue! It sounds super interesting. 🙂

    I’m sorry you didn’t love And Then There Were None! I thought the novel moved slowly in the beginning, too, but the ending was so incredibly well-done that it made the whole book worth it for me. And I did enjoy her writing style, mostly because it was so different from the writing style that I’m used to, but oh well – that’s why reading is so interesting. It’s so personal to every person and what one person loves, another person won’t. Glad you gave it a try, though!

  4. A scarf with a hood!?? GENIUS!!

    I wear lipstick the odd time, but Christopher doesn’t like lipstick in general, so I don’t wear it often.

  5. I am so jealous of that scarf!!!

  6. San says:

    That cowl is amazing!

  7. Travel Spot says:

    I am adding that podcast to my list. My only problem with series is that I often jump around when I normally listen to regular podcasts so listening to a whole series takes a bit more discipline than I sometimes have! I have listened to the first season of Series but am saving number two for when the entire thing is finished (which it may already be?).

    I love that lip color! I have put on lipstick a handful of times and I feel that it looks so foreign on my face that I have to take it off. I am just not used to having such bold lips. Also, I feel that my eyes are my strongest feature and I try not to distract from them ;). I wish I was brave enough to do bold lips though!

Leave a Reply